Consett & District Photographic Society

Established in 1949

Affiliated to the Northern Counties Photographic Federation (NCPF) And the Photographic Alliance of Great Britain (PAGB).

The Constitution


The Society shall be called CONSETT & DISTRICT PHOTOGRAPHIC SOCIETY hereinafter referred to as “The Society”.


The Objects of the Society shall be to afford facilities to members for the advancement of the art of Photography in all its branches.


In furtherance of the objects of the Society, the committee may use the following powers:-

  • To raise funds and invite and receive contributions, that in raising funds the Committee shall conform to any relevant requirements of law.
  • To foster and encourage co-operation and communication between similar organisations, societies and statutory bodies and to represent the views of the Society.
  • To do all such lawful things as are necessary for the achievement of the objects of the Society.


Membership shall be open to any person interested in photography. A member may be expelled or asked to resign from the Society at the decision of the committee.  A member expelled or asked to resign shall have the right of appeal to a special general meeting called for that purpose. Any  proceedings under this rule shall be treated as private and confidential. Honorary life members of the Society shall be appointed at the AGM, after first being proposed by the committee. An Honorary  life member so appointed shall be entitled to attend lectures without payment of subscriptions. There shall only be a maximum  of five Honorary life members allowed in the Society at any one time. Honorary life members will have full voting rights.
Annual subscriptions for adult membership shall be decided by the Management Committee at the Annual General Meeting. Junior members under 18 years of age or in full time education will be expected to pay half of the adult subscription. The spouse and all children under 18 years of age of members who have paid subscriptions shall enjoy free membership of the Society. The funds of the Society shall be applied solely to its stated objects. Members of the Society shall not receive payment, either directly or indirectly for their services or for anything except legitimate expenses incurred in the work of the Society.
The business of the Society shall be conducted by a Committee consisting of the President, Vice-President, Treasurer,  Secretary, Syllabus Secretary, Competition Secretary, and five other members. The President and Vice-President shall be  elected for a two year term, other officers and committee members shall be elected annually. Elections of officers shall be by ballot and shall take place at the Annual General Meeting. The president, Secretary and Competition Secretary shall represent the Society at the NCPF’s AGM and at the Wear Area meetings of the NCPF. Other post holders and committee members may attend in company with the representatives on a non-voting basis. In the event of a vacancy occurring on the committee during the year, the remaining committee members may co-opt a member  to discharge the duties of the position until the next AGM. The co-opted member shall have full voting rights. The committee shall meet as often as needed, five members of the Committee shall form a quorum.
At the AGM of the Society, ten members shall form a quorum. The AGM to be held at the last meeting of the season.
Special meetings may be called on a requisition by two ordinary members stating the ‘object’ and sent to the Secretary at least 14 days before the proposed date.
The ordinary rules of debate shall apply to all meetings, as defined in ‘ABC of Chairmanship’ by Lord Citrine. The decision of the President after full authorisation of the committee upon all matters of debate and conduct shall be final. The Secretary shall record the minutes of all committee and general meetings
All issues shall be decided upon by a simple majority of those present at the meeting. No member shall have more than one vote. In cases of equality the President shall have the casting vote. Voting shall normally be made by a show of hands. Only  when requested by at least three members shall a secret ballot be held, in which event two scrutineers shall be appointed  by the President.
The Treasurer shall at the AGM present a balance sheet audited by a non committee member appointed at the AGM for that purpose. The Treasurer shall collect all subscription and monies owing, after authorisation by the committee The Treasurer is to sign all cheques and a counter signature must be obtained for cheques from either of of the other signatories on the mandate at the bank.
The Society may be dissolved by the consent of two-thirds of the members voting in favour of such a course of action at a General Meeting. In the event of Dissolution of the Society or discontinuance of the meetings, all property shall be sold. Once debts are settled the balance shall be given to an appointed charity.
Any alterations to the Constitution shall only be made at either the A.G.M. or a Special General Meeting called for that purpose. Notice of proposed alterations must be given to the Secretary in writing no later than 14 days before the appointed date of the Meeting. Any changes to the constitution must be agreed by a majority of two thirds of those persons present.
This constitution was adopted by the Society in 1949 at the first Annual General Meeting, and has been adapted and developed at subsequent annual meetings.
Signed  President
Signed  Treasurer
Signed Secretary
Revised September, 2009